Originally Posted by Hoosier Red
That's good information Sea Ray. You are certainly more versed than I.
One other thing that could play into the classification, all of which comes from the school I'm sure, is how the school handles it.
I know Notre Dame for example rarely if ever recognizes redshirts until they in fact apply for and receive their fifth year from the university. I think it's the general policy that the rule should be a "student-athlete" should graduate in 4 years.
Stanford and Xavier may have similar policies.(I don't have any insight, simply recognizing some situations which are different than the standard state school.)
To the best of my knowledge there is nothing to apply for in Luck's case. NCAA rules allow you 5 yrs to complete 4 yrs of athletics. If you sit out your freshman year you are allowed to play four more without any school or governing body signing off on it so I disagree with your statement that he must apply for a 5th yr.