Re: 8/23/12 - Reds @ Phillies
My understanding in the past was always that if you were active prior to August 31 at any point, you were eligible. But ever since I've seen the actual rule itself, I just don't read it that way. It seems you have to be active or on a DL as of August 31 at midnight. I'd like to see this confusion cleared up as all of the Reds' beat guys and announcers seem to be saying Mesoraco would be eligible. I just don't think that's the case.
"No matter how good you are, you're going to lose one-third of your games. No matter how bad you are you're going to win one-third of your games. It's the other third that makes the difference." ~Tommy Lasorda