Originally Posted by redsmetz
Why do you consider that a stupid rule? You need to catch a ball to record the put out, or tag the fielder. The catcher didn't and he didn't get the ball to the 1st baseman to finalize the out.
Because the hitter is rewarded for swinging at a bad pitch and the pitcher is penalized for getting the hitter to chase. It should be treated just like any other wild pitch or passed ball--any runners can advance, but batter is out.
I hear you logically, but then when first base is occupied, it suddenly doesn't matter if the catcher catches the ball to "finalize the out?"