Originally Posted by traderumor
One thing to consider is that it appears to the eye that MLB umpires consistently call clear strike pitches balls when the catcher has to reach across the zone because of a missed spot. Also, the ump rarely gives the pitch, regardless of location, if the catcher mishandles the pitch.
Did you see the one Chapman threw last night? Hanigan was set up inside, but Chapman missed the spot and threw the ball over the outside part of the plate and it was called a ball even though it was very clearly a strike. The ball wasn't on the outside corner, it was right over the plate, but since he missed his spot by two feet it was called a ball.