Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
Originally Posted by mattfeet
But the other side of the coin is that the ump has to, per the rulebook, make the call in due time. Holbrook did NOT make that call quick enough. Kozma gave up on the ball at the same time or before the hand was raised.
The rule was not correctly applied to the situation. Effort be damned.
Kozma never should have let the ball drop. The ball is still alive so if he did intentionally let the ball drop then he screwed up because the other runners could advance.
If Kozma caught the ball like he should have, we wouldn't be having this problem.
"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it." Cal Hubbard