Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
Originally Posted by Wonderful Monds
Brutus, respectfully, I think you're being contrarian here.
It has to be called immediately. The ball was just above Kozma's head when it was called.
No it absolutely does not. In fact, umpires are taught to wait to make that call. I'm not being contrarian... it's the right call by rule.
The shortstop got under the ball with ordinary effort. That's all that matters. It doesn't matter how soon or how late the umpire made the call. In fact, they're supposed to wait until they're sure it will require ordinary effort. The shortstop was literally under the ball and got away from it thinking the LF was calling him off. That's ordinary effort despite the mix-up with his own guy.
Actually, I'd say that you're being a contrarian considering you're basically complaining that an umpire followed the rulebook and are upset because you are assuming the timing of the call makes any difference. It actually does not.
"No matter how good you are, you're going to lose one-third of your games. No matter how bad you are you're going to win one-third of your games. It's the other third that makes the difference." ~Tommy Lasorda
Last edited by Brutus; 10-05-2012 at 09:52 PM.