Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
Originally Posted by Dom Heffner
It simply wasn't routine. He didn't even catch it, regardless of the reason.
He was literally camped under the ball. It doesn't matter if he catches it or not. It only requires "ordinary" effort. Considering he was standing under the ball waiting for it, he showed he was able to catch it with ordinary effort.
That is the whole point of the rule... to prohibit someone who could have made an ordinary catch from suddenly letting the ball drop. It doesn't matter whether he catches the ball or not... the point is it didn't require extra effort to get under it. He was there waiting... that's an out right there once the umpire recognizes that.
"No matter how good you are, you're going to lose one-third of your games. No matter how bad you are you're going to win one-third of your games. It's the other third that makes the difference." ~Tommy Lasorda