Originally Posted by Brutus
Notice the rule doesn't say that it has to be apparent immediately. Don't conflate the two things. Being apparent immediately and immediately calling it when it's apparent are not one in the same. The umpire did not call it until it was apparent Kozma could get to it with ordinary effort. Considering he stopped at the spot where the ball eventually dropped, it was an ordinary play. But the umpired had to wait to be sure of that.
If Kozma was able to catch it with "ordinary" effort, I don't think the ump would have needed that much time to call IF.
Interesting, I remember Kozma as being a potential Cincy draft pick a few years back.