Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
The rule of thumb on an infield fly is wait until the ball is at its peak, look where the fielder is and if his feet are reasonably still then call in an infield fly. I don't think his feet were reasonably still.
I think where Holbrook screwed up was in his judgement. Keeping in mind the spirit of the rule where the rule wont allow balls to be intentionally dropped for a double play, no way would a fielder that far out intentionally drop a ball to get a double play.
I have had games where whether it was the wind blowing or the fielders were just horrible, I wouldn't call it an infield fly even if it was ready to land on the pitchers rubber. The fielder has to be camped out under the ball and he wasn't.
"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it." Cal Hubbard