Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
Originally Posted by Dom Heffner
Brutus, the rule says immediately. For the benefit of the runners. Period.
It says it again under the rule as a comment.
The infield fly is in no sense to be considered an appeal play. The umpire’s judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately.
No, the rules say immediately "when it becomes apparent." It can become apparent right before the ball drops.
I don't know why that's so difficult. It doesn't matter when it becomes apparent. And the comments of the rules also say that it only has to be judged that the infielder could have made a play on it regardless of why he didn't or why an outfielder makes a play.
"No matter how good you are, you're going to lose one-third of your games. No matter how bad you are you're going to win one-third of your games. It's the other third that makes the difference." ~Tommy Lasorda