Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
Originally Posted by Wonderful Monds
I just want to know what could happen in between the last part of a balls downward trajectory and it hitting the ground that could change enough that it takes that long for it to be apparent that it's an infield fly.
It's pretty simple... the infielder stopped as if he were waiting on the ball and the ball was still in flight. That right there gave the umpire every indication he needed to believe ordinary effort was possible to make the play. Everything that happened after that was irrelevant. At that moment in time, the umpire was justified in his interpretation of the rule. It's still subjective as to whether the infielder would have made the play but once he stopped as if he were getting ready to catch it, the umpire had every right to call that an infield fly.
"No matter how good you are, you're going to lose one-third of your games. No matter how bad you are you're going to win one-third of your games. It's the other third that makes the difference." ~Tommy Lasorda