Originally Posted by Wonderful Monds
Explain then how the rule has never been applied that way, until tonight.
It's applied that way a lot. Sometimes you don't realize it because the announcers might not mention an infield fly call is ruled, but it's called hundreds of times during the season. Remember it's not a dead ball, so if the announcers don't mention the infield fly being called, you probably didn't even realize it was.
Honestly, I don't know what else to say. That rule is called a lot. I'd say given the spot on the field where the ball landed, it probably doesn't happen very often that a shortstop gets to the ball with 'ordinary effort' or typically the LF calls him off early on in the play so umpires have a lot less to go on. But truly, that call really isn't atypical. I saw it a few weeks ago in a Reds' game, in fact. But the TV guys didn't mention it, and the only reason I know it was called is because I was actually listening to the Pirates radio broadcast and they did say it on the air.