Re: Postseason Scoreboard watching....
Originally Posted by Sea Ray
That's just an umpire sticking up for his bretheren as his words don't even make any sense. He says in the first minute of that clip that the fielder can "just pick the ball up and throw to second and first for a double play". Well, who's he going to get at 1B? Is the hitter standing in the batters box this whole time? He also admits that the call wasn't made at the top of the arc. Mistake #2. Finally, it wasn't an infield fly. It was in the OF and it was the LF's ball to catch. Horrible call.
Yep. There is a real "circle the wagons" motive to protect their fellow umpires. Holbrook made a bad judgment call when he invoked the infield fly rule but his much worse move was failing to do so immediately. The infield fly rule should not have been called, but it is to be called it must be called immediately.
"Hey...Dad. Wanna Have A Catch?" Kevin Costner in "Field Of Dreams."