Originally Posted by Sea Ray
That's just an umpire sticking up for his bretheren as his words don't even make any sense. He says in the first minute of that clip that the fielder can "just pick the ball up and throw to second and first for a double play". Well, who's he going to get at 1B? Is the hitter standing in the batters box this whole time? He also admits that the call wasn't made at the top of the arc. Mistake #2. Finally, it wasn't an infield fly. It was in the OF and it was the LF's ball to catch. Horrible call.
Of course. Last night the story was everyone in the world knew it was a bad call. Now if any umpires stay it's the right call, they're merely sticking up for one of their own.
You think maybe it's possible that he's not sticking up for an umpire but rather knows how the rule is taught and applied and he actually thinks thereby it's the correct call? Hm, that couldn't be could it?
The call doesn't have to be made at the top of the arc. Let's stop pretending that's a "mistake." Umpires are taught to, if possible, make it at the top of the arc. But there is nothing that says it has to be called that way. They are fully and totally within the rules to take more time if necessary (which McKean also points out). The rules actually say nothing about when the call is made. McKean's point about calling it at its apex is more about striving to find a balance of waiting and calling it in the air and that's how umpires are taught, but there is nothing precluding them from taking more time if necessary. They absolutely are within the rules to call it on its downward flight if it takes that long to make such a call.