Originally Posted by Brutus
Of course. Last night the story was everyone in the world knew it was a bad call. Now if any umpires stay it's the right call, they're merely sticking up for one of their own.
You think maybe it's possible that he's not sticking up for an umpire but rather knows how the rule is taught and applied and he actually thinks thereby it's the correct call? Hm, that couldn't be could it?
The call doesn't have to be made at the top of the arc. Let's stop pretending that's a "mistake." Umpires are taught to, if possible, make it at the top of the arc. But there is nothing that says it has to be called that way. They are fully and totally within the rules to take more time if necessary (which McKean also points out). The rules actually say nothing about when the call is made. McKean's point about calling it at its apex is more about striving to find a balance of waiting and calling it in the air and that's how umpires are taught, but there is nothing precluding them from taking more time if necessary. They absolutely are within the rules to call it on its downward flight if it takes that long to make such a call.
I'm not saying that not making the call at the top of the arc makes it against the rules. I'm just saying that it "ought" to be called that way so everyone on the field clearly knows the call and this ump agreed.
Now can you explain to me what this ump meant by letting the ball drop and getting an out at 2nd and 1st ? I sure have no idea what scenario he was referring to