Originally Posted by BCubb2003
If the infielder is standing under it, it qualifies as infield, is the umpire's reasoning, I suppose. Of course, it depends on whether the infielder has the range of Brandon Phillips or Miguel Cairo.
That's why it was a judgement call all the way and I disagree with the ump's judgement. I saw it as the LF's play. Moreover, there was no reason to call the INF Fly Rule because of how deep it was. It was too far away to double up two guys. Runners were going "halfway" because there was no reason to try to tag up on such a shallow fly. Bottomline: Poor, poor judgement on the part of the ump but not something that's "protestable".