Originally Posted by Brutus
He was no more than a step away from where the ball landed and would have had another two seconds to take that extra step if he'd not stopped. He didn't even need to be camped under it for him to get it.
You're making my point.
In order for the infield fly rule to be called, it is not enough that the infielder could catch it, the infielder must be camped under the ball, before the ball hits its apex and starts to fall back down.
He didn't need to be camped under it to catch it, but he did need to be camped under it for it to be considered a routine catch, and thus an if infield fly.
It's very clear from the video that Kozma was never camped under the ball before it hit its apex, nor could he have been.