Originally Posted by AtomicDumpling
Reynolds and Vasgersian are certainly not authorities on the subject.
No they didn't get the call right, that much is almost universally agreed by people who truly understand the rule and the spirit of the rule. If there is no reasonable possibility of turning a double play by letting the ball drop then the infield fly rule should not be invoked. The Cardinals had zero chance of turning a double play on that ball. They would have been extremely lucky to get even one out, much less two outs. They ended up getting nobody out at all after the ball dropped and the runners advanced easily. Calling the infield fly on that play was beyond ludicrous. Absolutely embarrassing.
It was a black eye for baseball that will make famous blown call highlight reels for decades.
I a agree with RMR though.
The rule protects the runners,who earned their way on base;the ground ball double play rewards the defense,it seems balanced and fair,I have no problem with this.But like Rick said,the defense should have to catch the ball.