Originally Posted by powersackers
2 feet or six inches is still less than a step back. So it doesn't matter on a pop fly.
It does matter, he was NOT camped under it. He probably (most definately) could have caught it but even if he had it was never a "camped" under it situation.
I think the rule should not have been applied, however it is a judgement call and the LF umpire (why is an outfield umpire calling an Infield fly???) used his judgement. Maybe some good will come out of this, like perhaps some clarification on when to use this rule, or maybe just the fact that only an infield umpire can make the determination (playoffs only), something.