Originally Posted by Caveman Techie
It does matter, he was NOT camped under it. He probably (most definately) could have caught it but even if he had it was never a "camped" under it situation.
I think the rule should not have been applied, however it is a judgement call and the LF umpire (why is an outfield umpire calling an Infield fly???) used his judgement. Maybe some good will come out of this, like perhaps some clarification on when to use this rule, or maybe just the fact that only an infield umpire can make the determination (playoffs only), something.
Yeah something needs to be fixed because that was just outrageous and baseball needs to make sure it never happens again. Embarrassing.