Originally Posted by Danny Serafini
I've always thought that was a stupid "rule" myself. As if it's OK to make the second out at 3rd base or it's better to make the last out at 2nd base. That's just silliness.
It makes a lot more sense to try to get to 3rd with one out, than it does with zero or two outs. If you're on 2nd with no outs, you have a pretty good chance that the hitter will advance you to third, or a good chance that any of the 3 subsequent hitters will combine to drive you in. Getting to third with one out makes is a heck of a lot easier to score than it does from second. Getting to third with two outs means you would only likely score on an infield hit, and its often not worth the risk to run yourself out of an inning.