Originally Posted by RedsBaron
The throw did not "easily beat Rose." Fosse was blocking the basepath without the ball and Rose and the baseball reached Fosse at about the same time. The ball didn't come "loose" because Rose plowed into Fosse before he had possession of the baseball.
Great news about the 2015 All Star game.
Technically, Pete could have been ruled safe at the instant he made contact with Fosse. The catcher has no right to obstruct the base line. He can only block the plate if and only if he has the ball. In this case, he was blocking the base line AND he did not have the ball.