Originally Posted by mth123
If the relief pitcher gives up the lead, its a blown save, even if it's the 2nd or 3rd inning.
I understand it is the rule to give a BS to a pitcher if he blows the game for the starter......no matter what inning....but it cannot be until after the starter is officially the starter of the game and eligible for the win. He cannot get a win until he goes 5 at least.....so the Reliever cannot get a blown save until at least the starter has gone 5. All he could be....if he came in during the 2nd or 3rd is the loser of the game.
Going back to the original point though....I look at blown saves for closers, mainly in the 9th and that is what I vividly remember about 1992. Bankhead was great in the 7th-8th role.....but both Dibble and Charlton also had saves pitching 8th-9th innings as well...as they did not over specialize the bullpens that much yet.