Originally Posted by MWM
You're honestly suggesting that when he signed his card, he knew it was wrong, but he signed it anyway? I don't understand that at all.
He wasn't explaining why it was an advantage. He was simply telling you his thought process. He never suggested it was an advantage. That's your extrapolation. The shot he hit was no different than had he dropped an inch from his previous one. That's what is meant by advantage. It didn't change the shot.
You are confusing two issues (and people often confuse these 2 issues when discussing the law). You are right that he almost certainly did not know that what he had done was against the rules.* However, he did know that he had committed the act that was in violations of the rules--he just did not know it was against the rules.
It is virtually never a defense to claim that you did not know that what you did was illegal. It is a defense to say that you didn't know you committed the act in question. So, if I dump garbage in my neighbor's lawn, but claim I was unaware that this was a crime, I am still liable (ignorance of the law is no excuse). If I am moving a ladder and accidentally knock over a garbage can, causing garbage to spill on my neighbor's lawn (and I don't see the garbage can fall over), then (in some cases) I have a defense if charged with illegal dumping, as I did not realize I had committed the act that violated the law.
Here, Tiger admitted that he knowingly did not drop the ball as close as possible to his previous shot. Clearly, he thought that this was within the rules. He now realizes it was not. This has nothing to do with video replay or anything. He should disqualify himself.
*Because we all know Tiger would never knowingly cheat... oh wait.