Originally Posted by texasdave
End of story. Even Tiger admitted that he did not drop as close as possible. I am not sure what all the discussion is about. Even the player himself admitted he did the wrong thing.
I'd never argue that he did the right thing, I just don't believe he knowingly broke the rule for a few reasons.
1) He had just hit a shot that bounced off the pin and bounced in the water, obviously rattled a bit
2) Had he chosen option 2 to drop at the last point the ball had crossed he could have gone back as far as he wanted, granted he kept that spot between he and the hole
3) He just came out and admitted it. I don't think Tiger is a cheater in golf, and if I did, I definitely wouldn't think Tiger would ever admit it.
He screwed up and should have been penalized 2 strokes from playing from the wrong spot. The officials decided it was 'close enough' so it wasn't a penalty. Had they realized it was a penalty it would have been addressed in the tent before he signed his scorecard, and he would have signed the correct scorecard.
After all of that, his intent came out because he's a popular player that gets interviewed after rounds. A mistake was brought to light and the rules officials decided it was a violation. With the new rules in place to protect the players from these situations they went back and gave him the original penalty that he should have got to begin with.
I have no idea why people are upset about this. Did he gain an advantage by flubbing up a rule? Yes. Did he get penalized for it? Yes.
The only issue is with the scorecard. And that scorecard was signed after the rules officials were aware of this possible violation and determined that he didn't break a rule.