Re: 2013 Golf Season Thread
FWIW, on mike & mike this morning, they said another official, who was about 10-12 feet away from tiger at the time, said that someone asked if Sergio had hit yet, and he yelled out that Sergio had taken his turn.
At any rate, its all silliness. Do we ask the umps if he thought a pitcher was trying to hit a guy after the game? Do we ask the field judge if he thought a guy was trying to use stickem on his gloves? No and no, only in golf do we let muntia rule the day, do we accept someone calling in from home and having a penalty assessed to a player (which seemingly happens about once a year on some tournament, somewhere) that was missed by the rules officials on the course.
The worst thing Sergio could have done was even address this as a problem. He basically admitted that he let Tiger get into his head, I'm sure other tour players took note as something to take advantage of down the road. Then again, I'm guessing most tour players already knew this was possible. My guess, if it was done to Tiger, most tour players knew it would serve only to piss him off and have him go on a run.