Originally Posted by George Anderson
Girardi threw his hat, that is an automatic ejection.
In the umpires judgement, the first pitch at the legs got away from the pitcher. The second he thought may have been intentional. He did his job and warned both dugouts. An ejection in that instance is not warranted. You never want to overreact and eject players unless you are 100% sure it is deserved.
The umpire did a very good job.
Isn't the act of simply just arguing the warning of both benches grounds for ejection of the manager? It seems I've heard that somewhere (perhaps last year when Hurdle was ejected after Leake hit Harrison and warnings were issued).