Originally Posted by CTA513
I dont see how it would be a different story if they were up by more.
If they are only up by 2 its ok to bunt for a single, but if they are up by 5 or more its not ok?
No - baseball's unwritten rule is a bunt single is a cheap way to break up a no hitter. If a guy has it going on enough to not have given up any hits the unwritten rule says bunting is a cheap way to "steal" a hit.
However, the fact is that the dude got a bunt hit putting the tying run on base. Thats the issue. If they were up by 5 runs in the ninth then that bunt would have soley served to break up the no hitter, not as a means to get the tying run to the plate. Thats a big difference.
And also, this wasn't a pitcher throwin a no hitter - this was a team. A little difference here. The bunt didn't ruin some kids no hitter. Semetics maybe, but important nonetheless.