Turn Off Ads?

Thread: Pitchers can control BABIP a very small amount?

Pitchers can control BABIP a very small amount?

http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/index...heck-on-babip/

Dan Rosencheck has some interesting findings related to pitcher BABIP. He presented them at the Sloan Analytics Conference, but Fangraphs has some of it up on their site.

I studied a bunch of variables I thought might have something to do with hit suppression on balls in play. I came up with two ó both FanGraphs stats ó that seem to have significant predictive power. The first is pop up rate. The second is z-contact, which is when batters swing at a strike ó balls in the strike zone ó thrown by a pitcher. What percent of those times does the batter make contact? It turns out that, just like inducing pop ups, it reduces BABIP and correlates consistently year to year. Getting batters to swing and miss at your strikes has strong predictive power on hit suppression.
    I feel like these are things we have generally understood some in the past. Better stuff makes it harder to square up the ball, thus leading to fewer harder hit balls, making them easier to field and turn into outs.

Still, it is nice to see something actually back it up, even if the correlation is small, it does seem to be there.

2. Turn Off Ads?
    Stat Wanker Hodiernus RedsManRick's Avatar

Re: Pitchers can control BABIP a very small amount?

I attended his presentation of this paper at the Sloan Analytics Conference. It was funny watching him present with Voros McCracken in the audience (sitting next to MLBAM's Corey Schwartz).

We had some interesting discussion afterwards regarding how he cut his samples regarding what kind of pitchers get pop ups and low z-contact rates. He hypothesized tall pitchers and guys with great change-ups. He didn't find anything predictive yet, but suggested that it merited further research.