Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Scotch Drinkers

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Scotch Drinkers

Give me some tips. I'm a beginner. I've been drinking it for about a year now. I've tried Johnny Black and Red (which I both loved). I'm now trying Cutty Sark (yeah I know, I was in Kroger late one night and it I liked the name). My goal right now is to just expand my palate of Scotch and then eventually become a serious Scotch guy and critiquing it.

Anyway, I need some more recommendations on some other brands.

How would you go about getting some variety? More single malt? I feel like I've got so many questions that I don't know where to begin.

EDIT: Yowza. MODS, this needs to be moved. (Sawry)
    Last edited by Todd Gack; 03-13-2013 at 09:53 PM.

Re: Scotch Drinkers

My mother in law drinks scotch every day and won't touch anything other than J & B. My favorite is Pinch although I believe technically it's a blend

I believe if you are getting seriously in to scotch you are going to want to learn about single malts.

Although not a real scotch fan- I prefer the lighter and smoother taste of Irish whiskey to scotch- I've had my fair share of them and because there are so many it's pretty tough to provide any kinds of recommendations other than to just go to a bar and try some. Generally, single malts are divided into regions, like highland, lowland, island, etc., so I'd say you will want to know where a particular one comes from if you try it, so that you can start to get a better sense for the qualities and characteristics of the geographic areas. My guess is that the most familiar to us in the states are from the Highlands, like Oban, the McAllan, Glenmorangie, and the Spey Sides, like Glenfiddich, Cardhu, Craggenmore and the like. I've had all these and you're likely to find them in any bar worth its salt in single malts.
    Next Reds manager, second shooter. --Confirmed on Redszone.

4. Likes: