Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tony Cingrani "debut"

Tony Cingrani "debut"

Did Tony Cingrani not make his MLB debut in 2012? It seems like many news sources are reporting tonight as his major league debut, why is this? Are they referring to his MLB starting debut?

We can also use this thread to discuss his "debut" tonight.

2. Turn Off Ads?
    13 Belongs in Cooperstown Captain13's Avatar

Re: Tony Cingrani "debut"

Tony pitched in 3 games last year.

http://www.baseball-reference.com/pl...ingrto01.shtml

Marty is calling it his "2013 debut", other media members are less than intelligent or informed. Maybe they are just lazy.
    What if this is as good as it gets?

They will look back and say it was the starting debut of the cy young winner . Its my first time seeing pitch very excited!

Yeah, even MLB Network was saying it was his MLB debut. Dumb

We do not get Reds games every day in Charlotte until hockey season is over so I was unable to watch it, how did he look? The stat line looked solid, a lot of pitches but they must have had a hard time figuring him out.

What did you guys that got to watch think?

Quote Originally Posted by RedTeamGo! View Post
    We do not get Reds games every day in Charlotte until hockey season is over so I was unable to watch it, how did he look? The stat line looked solid, a lot of pitches but they must have had a hard time figuring him out.

What did you guys that got to watch think?
    He had some control issues. He couldn't keep it in the zone consistently and was pretty much always pitching from behind in the count. That's where the bad ends mostly.

He relies heavily on his fastball (we already knew that) but he's very, very good with it. He sprays it around everywhere in the zone and outside of it. I think his most deceptive pitch is an eye high fastball as guys were swinging at it all night and either popping up or striking out.