Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 'To Kill A Mockingbird' Author Harper Lee Is Publishing A Second Novel

Potential Lunch Winner Dom Heffner's Avatar

'To Kill A Mockingbird' Author Harper Lee Is Publishing A Second Novel

This may be the best news of my life. I"ll own it the second it is available after crying like a teenager that just met Harry Styles.

Harper Lee, the author of the beloved novel To Kill a Mockingbird, will publish a second book this summer. Go Set a Watchman was completed in the 1950s, but set aside by the writer, who went on to win the Pulitzer Prize for the only novel she ever published.

Lee's publisher, Harper, issued a statement this morning, in which the author said:

I was a first-time writer, so I did as I was told. I hadn’t realized it (the original book) had survived, so was surprised and delighted when my dear friend and lawyer Tonja Carter discovered it. After much thought and hesitation, I shared it with a handful of people I trust and was pleased to hear that they considered it worthy of publication. I am humbled and amazed that this will now be published after all these years.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/0...n_6603994.html

2. Likes:

pedro (02-03-2015),Razor Shines (02-03-2015)

3. Turn Off Ads?

Re: 'To Kill A Mockingbird' Author Harper Lee Is Publishing A Second Novel

Very excited as well

If I am reading that correctly- it seems as though this was the original story that had flashbacks of Scout's childhood and the editor told her to write that story instead of the adult Scout story.

So instead of a cheesy sequel playing on our attachments, this should seem pretty authentic.

I'm not kidding I'm going to cry.

6. Likes:

Degenerate39 (02-04-2015),pedro (02-03-2015)

Harper Lee publishing a second book.

Ralph Nader driving a Corvair.

Paul McCartney joining the Stones.

Martin Luther being named a Catholic Saint.

What happens next?

The Cubs winning a World Series.

Nah, nothing that ridiculous.