Turn Off Ads?

Thread: Homeless cat with broken leg...

Homeless cat with broken leg...

I've been feeding a family of homeless cats for a couple of years now. The mama and two adult children have been fixed and are fairly tame. A gnarled old male we call Socks showed up about a year ago and started joining the family for meals. He has obviously been through numerous fights and has only one eye, no ears, and a lame back leg. He has only recently let me pet him. Yesterday, he showed up for breakfast with an obviously broken front leg. It flops around about an inch above the paw.

I don't know what to do for him. I know he is obviously a survivor, but I think he needs help this time. He is resting on a cat bed in our shed and I brought him food and water. I know he won't let me pick him up and put him in a cage. I think we'd both end up getting hurt. I realize it's a long shot, but this has always been the best place to turn for advice. Does anyone have any ideas?
    "I am your child from the future. I'm sorry I didn't tell you this earlier." - Dylan Easton

2. Turn Off Ads?
    Sprinkles are for winners dougdirt's Avatar

Re: Homeless cat with broken leg...

Any thoughts of putting the food into the cage and seeing if he'll go in there for it? Then you can just shut the door and take him to the vet?

Thanks for the suggestion, Doug. I'll try that and let you know how it works. I did try it unsuccessfully several months back when I was trying to get him in for neutering. He trusts me a whole lot more at this point so maybe I'll have some luck.
    "I am your child from the future. I'm sorry I didn't tell you this earlier." - Dylan Easton

Quote Originally Posted by Spitball View Post
    Thanks for the suggestion, Doug. I'll try that and let you know how it works. I did try it unsuccessfully several months back when I was trying to get him in for neutering. He trusts me a whole lot more at this point so maybe I'll have some luck.