Turn Off Ads?

Thread: A Good Attitude From a Benched Athlete?!?

For a Level Playing Field

A Good Attitude From a Benched Athlete?!?

Something that is unheard of in today's sportsworld....

CINCINNATI - One week Kelley Washington's up, the next week he's down.

After getting zero catches at Cleveland, the Bengals wide receiver was deactivated for the first time in his three-year NFL career against Minnesota. His replacement, rookie Chris Henry, caught four passes for 45 yards.

Washington played in every game his first two seasons and finished third on the team in catches (31) and receiving yards (378) in 2004. So sitting and watching, and getting force-fed a stiff dose of humble pie, was painful.

"I've never done that before in my athletic career," Washington said. "I'm a good enough player to be out there and contribute to the team. But when things are going the way they are, I refuse to be a distraction to the team at all. It'll be a good lesson for me in life — that sometimes you've got to swallow your pride."

A big thumb's up to Kelley Washington and his attitude.

2. Turn Off Ads?

Re: A Good Attitude From a Benched Athlete?!?

I watched him play alot when he played for Tennessee and he is a great athlete. I hope he gets more playing time.

Re: A Good Attitude From a Benched Athlete?!?

Another similar situation in Dallas...

Tucker Going the Extra Mile for Rookie

IRVING, TX. - Three things had to happen before rookie offensive tackle Rob Petitti was placed into the Cowboys' starting line up.

No. 1, the Cowboys cut former second-round draft pick Jacob Rogers. No. 2, the Cowboys released veteran Kurt Vollers. And no. 3, Petitti had to beat out Torrin Tucker, last year's starter.

Now just two games into his NFL career, Petitti has performed remarkably well for a rookie who wasn't drafted until the sixth round. So far, he has held his own against two teams -- San Diego and Washington -- both of which boast excellent defenses.