Turn Off Ads?

Thread: Foulke. Papelbon. What the heck?

Will post for food BuckeyeRedleg's Avatar

Foulke. Papelbon. What the heck?

Ok, I'm relatively new to fantasy baseball.

With that said, I'm in a yahoo league (non Rotisserie) that is very low on innings and we get a ton of points, for saves for some reason. So, I stacked my pitching with closers and even took the two relievers that have RP/SP, as well, so I can play them as starters.

My relievers:

Wagner
    F. Cordero
    Fuentes
    Turnbow
    Foulke
    Reitsma
    Jenks
    -With Heilman and Dempster able to slot as starters since they are RP/SP's.

I see Papelbon just got his 2nd save. Is he the new closer in Boston??????

If so, what (free) site will tell me this in the future (other than yahoo) so I don't look like an idiot. The guy I really want to beat just picked up Papelbon two days ago.

HELP!

Thanks.

2. Turn Off Ads?

Re: Foulke. Papelbon. What the heck?

www.rotowire.com

Not sure if Papelbon is the new BoSox closer, but I picked him up
    My dad got to enjoy 3 Reds World Championships by the time he was my age. So far, I've only gotten to enjoy one. Step it up Redlegs!

post hype sleeper cincinnati chili's Avatar

It wouldn't surprise me if Keith Foulke's problems last year weren't entirely attributable to injury. He might have lost velocity on his fastball - for good. If he can't get it up to 89 or so, then there's not enough differentiation between his FB and change up.

Papelbon was a closer in college.

The Red Sox aren't saying publicly he is the closer. But you do the math.
    How, then, are those people of the future—who are taking steroids every day—going to look back on baseball players who used steroids? They're going to look back on them as pioneers. They're going to look back at it and say "So what?" - Bill James, Cooperstown and the 'Roids