Turn Off Ads?
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Javascript

  1. #1
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,665

    Javascript

    Ok. I've been trying to use ESPN's Gamecast, and it keeps telling me that either my browser (which is IE) doe not support Javascript, or I do not have the Flash plug-in installed.

    I have the current version of Java(Sun) installed, and it is "checked" in Internet Properties.

    I uninstalled it, and then went to the java site and re-installed it, yet have the same problem.

    And suggestions would be helpful.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  2. Turn Off Ads?
  3. #2
    Member ochre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4,266

    Re: Javascript

    java is not the same thing as javascript.

    Does your browser have script blocking capabilities?
    4009



  4. #3
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,665

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by ochre
    java is not the same thing as javascript.

    Does your browser have script blocking capabilities?
    How do I find out? it's IE. This is a brand new computer ochre.

    I just went into my advanced section on Internet Options and there no longer is a section for Java (Sun). It was there before. I uninstalled it, and then went to www.java.com and reinstalled it, thinking this might fix the problem. But it is not showing up.

    Also (maybe it's unrelated)... I noticed in the Browsing section that "Disable Script debugging" is checked. Does that matter?

    I am trying to read up on what javascript is. It's scripting language used to improve the design, validate forms, detect browsers, create cookies, and much more.

    Is it something I need to download?

    Also - will a popup blocker screw with it?
    Last edited by GAC; 04-12-2006 at 08:36 PM.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  5. #4
    Member ochre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4,266

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by GAC
    How do I find out? it's IE. This is a brand new computer ochre.

    I just went into my advanced section on Internet Options and there no longer is a section for Java (Sun). It was there before. I uninstalled it, and then went to www.java.com and reinstalled it. But it is not showing up.

    Also (maybe it's unrelated)... I noticed in the Browsing section that "Disable Script debugging" is checked. Does that matter?

    I am trying to read up on what javascript is. It's scripting language used to improve the design, validate forms, detect browsers, create cookies, and much more.

    Is it something I need to download?

    Also - will a popup blocker screw with it?
    Yes, many popup windows are invoked from javascript. Again, java and javascript are not really related. Your popup blocker might be causing the problem.
    4009



  6. #5
    Charlie Brown All-Star IslandRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Posts
    4,838

    Re: Javascript

    Don't know about the pop-up blocker... sounds like you're getting an error message rather than just having nothing happen. What's the sequence of events, exactly? Depending on whether the GameCast window opens at all... if it won't open at all, then maybe it's a Javascript/pop-up blocking problem. If it opens but won't load, then your Flash plug-in is probably missing or out of date.
    Not all who wander are lost

  7. #6
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,665

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by IslandRed
    Don't know about the pop-up blocker... sounds like you're getting an error message rather than just having nothing happen. What's the sequence of events, exactly? Depending on whether the GameCast window opens at all... if it won't open at all, then maybe it's a Javascript/pop-up blocking problem. If it opens but won't load, then your Flash plug-in is probably missing or out of date.
    When I click on Gamecast I get a black screen with the message that says - either the Flash plugin is not installed or my browser does not support javascript (which I find hard to believe, since it's IE).
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  8. #7
    Vavasor TRF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    13,283

    Re: Javascript

    GAC first go get firefox, and see if you still have the problem. www.mozilla.org

    if it works in firefox, the IE is configured wrong somehow.
    Suck it up cupcake.

  9. #8
    Charlie Brown All-Star IslandRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Posts
    4,838

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by GAC
    When I click on Gamecast I get a black screen with the message that says - either the Flash plugin is not installed or my browser does not support javascript (which I find hard to believe, since it's IE).
    Black screen = new popup window?

    My guess is a Flash problem of sorts. Can you go to other sites using Flash (just pulling an example out of thin air, say cbs.com) and see the Flash content?
    Not all who wander are lost

  10. #9
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,665

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by TRF
    GAC first go get firefox, and see if you still have the problem. www.mozilla.org

    if it works in firefox, the IE is configured wrong somehow.
    It works on Firefox. It first told me that I needed a plug-in. And then allowed me to install it (Macromedia). Works fine with Firefox.

    So I went and installed the Macromedia Flash player on IE, but still having the same problem.

    I also turned off the pop-up blocker that came with the IE browser.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  11. #10
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,665

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by IslandRed
    Black screen = new popup window?
    Yep

    My guess is a Flash problem of sorts. Can you go to other sites using Flash (just pulling an example out of thin air, say cbs.com) and see the Flash content?
    I went to CBSSportsline and after allowing popups, it allows the Game Tracker to come up.
    Last edited by GAC; 04-14-2006 at 03:37 AM.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  12. #11
    Vavasor TRF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    13,283

    Re: Javascript

    my suggestion is to just use firefox. It's a better browser anyway. you can get an extension that will allow it to emulate IE. I mean if you really need that.
    Suck it up cupcake.

  13. #12
    Charlie Brown All-Star IslandRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Posts
    4,838

    Re: Javascript

    Quote Originally Posted by TRF
    my suggestion is to just use firefox. It's a better browser anyway. you can get an extension that will allow it to emulate IE. I mean if you really need that.
    Well, now that he has Firefox, yeah, use that. While I prefer Firefox, I generally don't give "change your browser" as the first answer...

    GAC, I just noticed that the ESPN Gamecast (the Flash version) is labeled "beta." So it may not be your computer specifically.
    Not all who wander are lost

  14. #13
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,665

    Re: Javascript

    Thanks for all your assistance guys.

    I just bought this computer and was using the Maxthon browser (which integrates with IE); but I've decided to use Firefox.

    I don't make Firefox my default browser, that way I have the option. Plus, my wife uses this computer (MSN Gaming Zone), and she has enough trouble with IE.... Firefox would simply confuse her!

    So, as long as I can get it with FF, then that is fine with me.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  15. #14
    Vavasor TRF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    13,283

    Re: Javascript

    There is an extension for making firefox behave like IE. it's pretty handy.
    Suck it up cupcake.


Turn Off Ads?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please.

Thank you, and most importantly, enjoy yourselves!


RedsZone.com is a privately owned website and is not affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds or Major League Baseball


Contact us: Boss | GIK | BCubb2003 | dabvu2498 | Gallen5862 | LexRedsFan | Plus Plus | RedlegJake | redsfan1995 | The Operator | Tommyjohn25