Turn Off Ads?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Scoring Question

  1. #1
    Viva la Rolen kaldaniels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    8,044

    Scoring Question

    Who decides that EE gets a double for his game winning hit today...I mean the Marlins walked off the field and didn't even make a play on the ball. Is it simply a judgement by the official scorer???

  2. Turn Off Ads?
  3. #2
    Puffy's Daddy Red Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Centerville, OH
    Posts
    20,422

    Re: Scoring Question

    Quote Originally Posted by kaldaniels
    Who decides that EE gets a double for his game winning hit today...I mean the Marlins walked off the field and didn't even make a play on the ball. Is it simply a judgement by the official scorer???
    I believe it's the fact that Dunn was on 2nd base and EE had already passed first base when Dunn scored, thus, they gave him a double.
    'When I'm not longer rapping, I want to open up an ice cream parlor and call myself Scoop Dogg.'
    -Snoop on his retirement

    Your Mom is happy.

  4. #3
    Redsmetz redsmetz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Winton Place
    Posts
    11,184

    Re: Scoring Question

    At MLB's Rules Part 1007:

    GAME ENDING HITS (f) Subject to the provisions of 10.07 (g), when the batter ends a game with a safe hit which drives in as many runs as are necessary to put his team in the lead, he shall be credited with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run. NOTE: Apply this rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases because of being awarded an "automatic" extra base hit under various provisions of Playing Rules 6.09 and 7.05. (g) When the batter ends a game with a home run hit out of the playing field, he and any runners on base are entitled to score.
    Dunn went two bases, scored two base hit.

  5. #4
    Stat Wanker Hodiernus RedsManRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Guelph, ON
    Posts
    16,038

    Re: Scoring Question

    This came in to play last night in the Cubs/Dodgers game. JD Drew hit a ball down the line to score the winning run from 2B. He easily could've had a double in a normal circumstance but as soon as he hit first, he rounded back towards home plate to celebrate. He was only credited with a single.

    Reminds of Robin Ventura's (?) walk off single when it was actually a homer but he didn't run it out...
    Games are won on run differential -- scoring more than your opponent. Runs are runs, scored or prevented they all count the same. Worry about scoring more and allowing fewer, not which positions contribute to which side of the equation or how "consistent" you are at your current level of performance.

  6. #5
    Redsmetz redsmetz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Winton Place
    Posts
    11,184

    Re: Scoring Question

    Quote Originally Posted by RedsManRick
    This came in to play last night in the Cubs/Dodgers game. JD Drew hit a ball down the line to score the winning run from 2B. He easily could've had a double in a normal circumstance but as soon as he hit first, he rounded back towards home plate to celebrate. He was only credited with a single.

    Reminds of Robin Ventura's (?) walk off single when it was actually a homer but he didn't run it out...
    That was a Grand Slam but he was mobbed by his teammates as recounted on Wikipedia:

    ...every Mets fan remembers October 17, 1999, Game Five of the NLCS. The series-leading Atlanta Braves were up 3-2 in the fifteenth; it was cold and raining. A bases-loaded walk to Todd Pratt forced in the tying run and brought Ventura to the plate; the active grand slam leader first worked the count to his favor then smacked a home run into right-center field. Pratt, however, didn’t see the ball leave the park and ran back to first base, hoisting Ventura into the air and lugging him off the field before he could round the bases. The hit was officially scored an RBI single…a “Grand Single” (sometimes referred to as the "Grand Slam Single").

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, aka, the most prosperous city in the world.
    Posts
    10,681

    Re: Scoring Question

    Quote Originally Posted by redsmetz
    At MLB's Rules Part 1007:



    Dunn went two bases, scored two base hit.
    EE was credited with a double because EE went to second. Since Dunn advanced 2 baes, the most that EE could get was a double, but he must run to second to be credited with it.


Turn Off Ads?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please.

Thank you, and most importantly, enjoy yourselves!


RedsZone.com is a privately owned website and is not affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds or Major League Baseball


Contact us: Boss | GIK | BCubb2003 | dabvu2498 | Gallen5862 | LexRedsFan | Plus Plus | RedlegJake | redsfan1995 | The Operator | Tommyjohn25