Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keeping score in kids leagues

Manliness Personified HumnHilghtFreel's Avatar

Keeping score in kids leagues

I'm not sure if this is the right section of the fora to talk about this, so feel free to move it if it isn't.

I didn't want to derail the thread about the article on the kid with cancer being picked on in a little league game, so I started this topic.

What age do you think it is appropriate to start keeping score at children's sporting events?

I understand that a lot of people these days think it's a good thing to protect the kids and let them just play for fun, which I have no problems with that, but I think that it's often carried on for a little too long.

I started playing baseball competitively when I was in kindergarten in a coach-pitch league and I feel that it taught me a lot of life lessons, namely, that you're going to lose some battles throughout life, but you're also going to win a lot if you try hard enough. I HATED losing, but you learn a lot more from dissapointment than you do from just playing for fun all the time.

I think that somewhere around 7 or 8 years old is just about the right time to start playing games competitively. How about you?

2. Turn Off Ads?

Re: Keeping score in kids leagues

11-12
    When all is said and done more is said than done.

All of them.

always keep score. even at playing whiffle ball with my freinds at age 8 we always kept score. games are for competition. without a score, what are you competing against??

you learn how to win and how to lose. thats life.