Turn Off Ads?
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Infield Fly Rule

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,381

    Infield Fly Rule

    I posed this question on the "Narron let me down tonight!!" thread, but have seen no response there so I thought I'd ask it anew.

    I'm curious about the scoring Monday on Conine's infield fly rule call by the ump.

    According to Yahoo Sports, Conine (in the box score) was 0 for 3, no RBI:"Bot 6th: Cincinnati- J. Conine popped out to shallow center, R. Freel scored, B. Phillips to third, A. Dunn to second." Shouldn't Connine have gotten an RBI?

    What if the Brewer second baseman had actually caught the ball (without the infield fly rule being called) over the shoulder, sprinting into the outfield and all runners and Freel had tagged up and scored. That would have been a sac fly for Conine, right?

    Perhaps it still should be a sac fly because Freel did advance a base after the "fly ball out" call by the ump. Seems similar to scoring after an ump rules "caught" on an outfielder's shoestring catch that appears to some (including runners) to be trapped.

    How did the official scorer account for Freel's run, if not due to Conine's batted ball which was ruled "caught"? Granted, I do not know whether or not Freel tagged up.

    From the rule book (abridged for sake of brevity):

    10.04 Runs Batted In
    A run batted in is a statistic credited to a batter whose action at bat causes one or more runs to score, as set forth in this Rule 10.04.

    (a) The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores

    (1) unaided by an error and as part of a play begun by the batter's safe hit ... sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder's choice, unless Rule 10.04(b) applies;
    (2) by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (because of a base on balls ... or
    (3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score.

    (b) The official scorer shall not credit a run batted in

    (1) when the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse-force double play; or
    (2) when a fielder is charged with an error because the fielder muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play.
    (c) ... holds the ball or throws to a wrong base ...

  2. Turn Off Ads?
  3. #2
    Member chicoruiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,710

    Re: Infield Fly Rule

    I agree...I think Conine deserves an RBI.
    "In baseball, you don't know nothin'"...Yogi Berra

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Greentown, IN
    Posts
    167

    Re: Infield Fly Rule

    Accordingly to Rosecrans' blog, official scoring change to an rbi.

  5. #4
    Rally Onion! Chip R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    34,187

    Re: Infield Fly Rule

    Quote Originally Posted by Far East View Post
    I posed this question on the "Narron let me down tonight!!" thread, but have seen no response there so I thought I'd ask it anew.

    I'm curious about the scoring Monday on Conine's infield fly rule call by the ump.

    According to Yahoo Sports, Conine (in the box score) was 0 for 3, no RBI:"Bot 6th: Cincinnati- J. Conine popped out to shallow center, R. Freel scored, B. Phillips to third, A. Dunn to second." Shouldn't Connine have gotten an RBI?

    What if the Brewer second baseman had actually caught the ball (without the infield fly rule being called) over the shoulder, sprinting into the outfield and all runners and Freel had tagged up and scored. That would have been a sac fly for Conine, right?

    I believe that would be correct. And the runners would have to wait until the fielder caught the ball to advance. Otherwise they could get a head start going to the next base.
    The Rally Onion wants 150 fans before Opening Day.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rally-...24872650873160

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Louisville
    Posts
    547

    Re: Infield Fly Rule

    Quote Originally Posted by chicoruiz View Post
    I agree...I think Conine deserves an RBI.
    Yup...This got changed to an RBI for Conine, as it should. If you're scoring at home, that goes 4U.

    Also, it's not a sac fly. A Sac fly has to either be:

    A) caught (which is the normal situation, of course)

    or

    B) dropped for an error AND the scorer must rule that the runner would have scored even if the ball was caught cleanly. Neither was the case on that play.


Turn Off Ads?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please.

Thank you, and most importantly, enjoy yourselves!


RedsZone.com is a privately owned website and is not affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds or Major League Baseball


Contact us: Boss | GIK | BCubb2003 | dabvu2498 | Gallen5862 | LexRedsFan | Plus Plus | RedlegJake | redsfan1995 | The Operator | Tommyjohn25