Simple question (hopefully), is the hand part of the bat? I had a person who is one of the leaders of the youth baseball league that my daughter plays in tell me that the other day. She told me if a pitched ball hits a batters hand, it's a foul ball, all the time. I looked in the rule book and I didn't see it that way. From what I gather, if a pitched ball hits the batter anywhere, he is awarded first base unless he is attempting to swing at the pitch. Does anyone have a good answer?
EDIT: I did a little more digging. I missed one. If the pitch hits the batter in the srtike zone, it's also a foul ball. It appears to really have nothing to do with the batters hands. The lady is just flat wrong.