Last night in our slow pitch softball game I saw the umpire make an interesting decision. The team we were playing had a kid, maybe about 16, who was obviously not on the team for his bat. He played ok defense, but I got the impression that he was there to give them enough players to field a team, since they had nobody on the bench. Anyway, the first time he came up he struck out, the second time up he hit a weak foul ball with two strikes, and the third time up he swung and missed for strike 2. (We start with a 1-1 count.) So I have the kid in a 1-2 hole and he hasn't hit anything fair the whole game. I grooved the next pitch right down the middle and he took it. Assuming I had the strike call, and the third out, I started to walk off the field and the umpire called it a ball. I threw the next pitch in the same location, got the called strike three, and then walked off the field. I walked by the umpire on the way to the bench and asked him, "What was wrong with the pitch before the third strike?" The umpire's response..."Nothing was wrong with it. It was a perfect pitch. I just wanted to give the kid a chance."