Turn Off Ads?
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Homer's Balk

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5

    Homer's Balk

    I haven't seen anyone mention this from last night. Was it called before he threw the first pitch to the next batter? Is time considered called when a player is walking from the on deck circle to the plate? Does the ump have to give a play ball signal when the player gets there or does play naturally resume when he steps in the batter's box? Never thought of this before.

    From the centerfield camera it looked like Homer came set in the full windup just before the batter put one foot in the box. The ump had a hand on his hip and was looking away from the plate. Homer stepped off and the balk was called by the first base umpire. Did he really think time was called? Or did he step off because he forgot to start from the stretch? I could just be remembering it wrong.

    Maybe someone who recorded the game or has mlb.tv can go back and take a look.

    Yes, first post. Hi folks!

  2. Turn Off Ads?
  3. #2
    Vampire Weekend @Bernie's camisadelgolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    11,492

    Re: Homer's Balk

    He rolled his eyes (and I'm not sure why) just before he stopped off. He clearly believed time was called.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    240

    Re: Homer's Balk

    balks, and the strike zone.

    The so-called tangibles, but in actuality intangibles of baseball.
    L.A. manager Grady Little had a bad feeling about Wednesday's game when he saw Harang and pitching coach Dick Pole walking in after Harang's warmup.

    "I saw two big men," Little said. "Either could have shut us out tonight."

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    225

    Re: Homer's Balk

    I just went back and watched it again. It was the top of the 4th with 2 outs. Homer had just walked Barfield after running the count full. As Rouse, the shortstop, slowly walked to the plate, both the umpire and Ross were looking in the direction of the Indians dugout. Right as Rouse put his left foot in the batters box (he bats left-handed), Homer walked up to the rubber in the windup position, which of course a pitcher would not normally do with a man on first base. Homer then stepped off the rubber with his left foot, which is a balk when a right-handed pitcher does that (he can only step off with his right foot, and then only towards second base or towards third).
    Now, as for whether time was still called or not, I don't know. I have the same question you do: When a batter walks from the on deck circle to the batters box, is time called? And, if so, when does play begin again? As soon as the batter puts one foot into the batters box? Does anyone know?


Turn Off Ads?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please.

Thank you, and most importantly, enjoy yourselves!


RedsZone.com is a privately owned website and is not affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds or Major League Baseball


Contact us: Boss | GIK | BCubb2003 | dabvu2498 | Gallen5862 | LexRedsFan | Plus Plus | RedlegJake | redsfan1995 | The Operator | Tommyjohn25