I haven't seen anyone mention this from last night. Was it called before he threw the first pitch to the next batter? Is time considered called when a player is walking from the on deck circle to the plate? Does the ump have to give a play ball signal when the player gets there or does play naturally resume when he steps in the batter's box? Never thought of this before.
From the centerfield camera it looked like Homer came set in the full windup just before the batter put one foot in the box. The ump had a hand on his hip and was looking away from the plate. Homer stepped off and the balk was called by the first base umpire. Did he really think time was called? Or did he step off because he forgot to start from the stretch? I could just be remembering it wrong.
Maybe someone who recorded the game or has mlb.tv can go back and take a look.
Yes, first post. Hi folks!