Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Advice Wanted

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Advice Wanted

After I graduated high school back in 2001, I started studying accounting. Accounting was a logical choice for me because I pay attention to detail, enjoy numbers, and hey, every company needs an accountant, right? However, within a couple years of college, I realized that accounting wasn't something I wanted to do professionally. Although I'm good with details, my attention span is just a bit too short for me to maintain interest in something that can be so tedious.

After some years of traveling and doing a lot of soul searching, I've decided that I want to return to college and study something else. The problem is, I don't know what I want to study. That's where the advice request comes in.

Like I said, I'm good with numbers, but I just don't want to do anything that involves math. It's more like a hobby for me. I want to avoid science, too, despite how interesting I find it. I thought about history, but I just don't think I have enough passion for it to make it a big part of my life. As for physical labor, I'm 150 lbs., and it's just not my thing.

I also want to avoid philosophy/religion (I have some interest but not enough), health care, engineering, law, management, sales (although I made a killing when I used to do it), business, mechanics, computers (again, I have some interest but not enough), and many of the other, typical options.

Anyway, I'm hoping to do something involving creativity. I always sucked at drawing, painting, etc., and I'm not interested in that anyway unless I could do something similar to http://www.toothpastefordinner.com/ .

Here's what does interest me. I like other cultures. I worry that any culture could get boring after I spend a lot of time with it, though, so I don't want to specialize in any one culture like Russian Studies, for example.