Turn Off Ads?

Thread: Sports Administration

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Sports Administration

I'm a freshman at the University of Cincinnati and I have recently switched majors from Pre-Pharmacy to either Sports Admin. or Marketing (complete 180 , trust me my parents are proud ). I know in both of these fields it is a very good idea to start networking and getting connections early, which brings me to the point of this thread. Anyone know any places where I should apply for a job that could help out in these fields or look good in a future resume?

Advice for other people going into college soon, don't go for the money; go for the passion. If you threw me into a Bio Lab or Chem Lab i'd probably cry right now.

Thanks for all advice it's appreciated.
    Last edited by NorrisHopper30; 01-25-2009 at 10:19 PM.

Re: Sports Administration

Start sending letters to just about every sports organization in your area asking about summer internships. You may not get paid, but it's just about the best way to break in that I can think of. As you are a freshman, it will give you a few summers to put your work in and build a resume. The Reds and Bengals would be obvious places, but think beyond that to include any minor league sports teams in your list. Any experience is good experience, so don't limit yourself to only sports you follow. You may have to take an unpaid position or start somewhere on the ground level, like working in the ticket office, but it gets you in the door. Also check in with the UC athletic department to see if they have any student openings on their sports information or marketing staffs. I know when I was looking at UC 20 years ago, they really promoted their co-op programs, so you might see if your major offers co-ops as well.
    Wear gaudy colors, or avoid display. Lay a million eggs or give birth to one. The fittest shall survive, yet the unfit may live. Be like your ancestors or be different. We must repeat!