Turn Off Ads?
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Connecting To Home Network Issue

  1. #1
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,674

    Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Alright one of you computer experts - I need some assistance.

    My daughter has a Toshiba laptop TECRA A8-EZ8511. Now, for some reason, it sees my network, yet won't connect. My network is WEP security-enabled and requires a password. But I can't get it to give me the prompt where I enter that password. The little computer icon in the task bar is in the acquire mode (little yellow ball) trying to validate identity; but it goes no further then that.

    I've removed the network from the Network list, and it then tells me it has found my network, so I tell it to connect. But again, I never get the prompt to enter my password so it's basically sitting in the "validating identity" mode, which is never comes out of.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    I use the Linksys broadband N series router. I have cable modem internet. I'm not having any trouble with any of my other computers connecting to the network.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  2. Turn Off Ads?
  3. #2
    We are the angry mob cincyinco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    The 303
    Posts
    2,536

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    If I remember right, most linksys home routers have a discovery button, for lack of a better term, that will temp open the router so you can get a key.

    Otherwise, you need to log in to the router as the admin and check your settings.

    Another thing to try is direct connect via rj 45 cable, or ethernet cable. See if you can get to to prompt for WEP key then.

    If all that doesn't work, always google the problem. Chances are, someone else has had this issue and has talked about it and found resolution for it on another forum somewhere out there. Just search your router model, and a key phrase that describes the problem. Experiment with your searches.

    And last but not least, check the manual and manufacturer websites which often have a vast amount of resources and FAQs that may assist you in finding a solution.

    Best of luck.
    "I hate to advocate chemicals, alcohol, violence or insanity to anyone... But they've always worked for me."

    -Hunter S. Thompson

  4. #3
    Danger is my business! oneupper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Back in Florida
    Posts
    8,157

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    GAC. Is the network card on the Toshiba also N series? A G series card will not connect to a wireless N network, even if it "sees" it.

    I have this problem with a MacBook and my home network. I can have my router transmit both G and N compatible signals, but bandwith and range are lowered.

    (Edit...checked the Tech Specs on your Tecra...only b/g enabled.)...
    "A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals and you know it."

    http://dalmady.blogspot.com

  5. #4
    A Little to the Left Redsfaithful's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Bexley, OH
    Posts
    7,467

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Total stab in the dark, but I recently had some issues with a new laptop connecting to my network, and I have a 3 year old Linksys router, I updated the firmware on the router and that fixed whatever the issue was. Might be worth trying.

    You have a newer router than I do though, so it wouldn't surprise me if your firmware is already up to date, but it's worth checking.
    We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.
    --Oscar Wilde

  6. #5
    On the brink of disaster acredsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    627

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Most wireless N routers will also broadcast in both B and G modes. You may want to check your settings to make sure, but it shouldn't be an issue. I really stay away from Linksys products because they have a tendency to be glitchy and short lived. I reccommend Netgear for anybody who is buying a new router. Anyway, back to the problem. If you haven't turned your router off for around 30 seconds then back on, try that first. After that disable the wireless on the laptop then enable it again. Of course if that doesn't work the final advice I can offer you is restarting the laptop if you haven't already tried that.
    "I thought I'd get your theories, mock them, then embrace my own. The usual." -- House

    "You guys are still thinking like doctors when you should be thinking like plumbers. Come on, I wanna see some butt crack." -- House

  7. #6
    CELEBRATION TIME RBA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    San Marcos, CA
    Posts
    13,984

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    It could be the software managing the network connection conflicting with Microsoft Windows connection if you have both running at the same time. Find out which one is managing the connection and disable the other.

  8. #7
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,674

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Thanks for your input everyone.

    She has been on my network all school year with no problem. Something, I'm assuming, happened over the weekend where now she can't. Like I said - it sees my network, yet is in this constant mode of trying to acquire the "certificate" (whatever that means).

    I too have a Toshiba laptop with the same Atheros Wireless Network adapter, and I have no problem whatsoever.

    I may end up using the recovery disk and formatting the computer and re-set everything up again to see what happens.

    I'm also thinking of going into my router setup and changing the security from WEP to WPA and see what that does.

    I can also contact Linksys support and they can help me also. I'll do it via chat though, because trying to talk to them over the phone is tedious since most speak broken English.
    Last edited by GAC; 08-03-2009 at 07:57 PM.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  9. #8
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,674

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    OK. Ya'll won't believe how I fixed this thing.

    I rebooted the router/modem. I didn't think that was where the problem was because all the other computers in my home network worked fine, and I figured it had to be something within my daughter's laptop.

    But I rebooted the two units and it picked up the network. Go figure! Thanks all for your input.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  10. #9
    Box of Frogs edabbs44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    16,297

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Related question...I have a Linksys router and recently tried to move it to another part of the house with no success. I then hooked it back up and now all three (2 wireless, 1 wired) computers do not connect to the Internet. I can connect to the network wirelessly but have no Internet access unless I connect the computer to the cable modem via an ethernet cable.

    I am guessing something has to be wrong with the security somewhere but I cannot find anything as I have rebooted, switched the cables, etc etc etc. Any thoughts?

  11. #10
    THAT'S A FACT JACK!! GAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bellefontaine, Ohio
    Posts
    26,674

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Do you know how to go into your router setup page? In the address bar, it's usually 192.168.1.1 (I think). If you have never set up a username/password, then the default one is "admin" in password ONLY.

    If you go into wireless networking, you can reset back to default settings. From there you will need to go back to each computer and set up wireless as you did prior.

    If nothing else, and you can get internet access on the computer wired to the router, you can go to linksys website and use their tech support chat option where they can walk you through the above. Done it several times in the past, and they've always been helpful.
    "panic" only comes from having real expectations

  12. #11
    Box of Frogs edabbs44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    16,297

    Re: Connecting To Home Network Issue

    Got fed up and bought a new router. Now, for some reason, only one laptop can work wirelessly and the other one has to be connected. I consider myself to be somewhat computer savvy (or at least not technologically illiterate) but I cannot figure out what the problem is.


Turn Off Ads?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please.

Thank you, and most importantly, enjoy yourselves!


RedsZone.com is a privately owned website and is not affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds or Major League Baseball


Contact us: Boss | GIK | BCubb2003 | dabvu2498 | Gallen5862 | LexRedsFan | Plus Plus | RedlegJake | redsfan1995 | The Operator | Tommyjohn25