Turn Off Ads?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting Into Grad School

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Getting Into Grad School

Was wondering if I could pick your brains about this.

Here's my story:

I'm an Electrical Engineering student at Wright State, and I'll most likely graduate in March of 2011. I want to start working after I get my Bachelor's degree because I'm 22 and I'm ready to start making money, but I do still want to pursue a Master's Degree.

I'm hoping I can get into UD for grad school. On the surface, I should meet the requirements. UD requires a BSEE to get into their MSEE program and atleast a 3.0. I currently have a 3.441 at Wright State and I will have my BS.

The only thing I'm concerned about on admissions requirements is that before I went to Wright State, I attended Miami for 3 years and I was a bit of a slacker there. My GPA at Miami was around 2.7-2.8ish if I remember correctly. Long story short, I just went through the motions and I eventually had a wake up call, and then I transferred to Wright State and I'm loving my major there, and it shows.

So, would a school like UD see my lower GPA at Miami and not take me because of that, or do they only care about the GPA of the degree-granting insitution? If I remember correctly, OU and UC only care about the GPA from your degree-granting institution. But I know UD is a private school, so they can be a little stricter about that stuff.

I also plan to take the GRE, even though I'm sure it will be a pain to study for since I also want to take the FE (Fundamentals of Engineering exam) at the time of my graduation.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Re: Getting Into Grad School

My guess is you'll be fine. In my experience schools like to talk tough about their admissions standards, but will let anyone in who is motivated enough to pay them.

Take the GRE and the FE and get good scores and you'll be fine.

Good luck!