Didn't want this buried on page 4 of the health thread, so I'll stick this here and those of you that are trying to be serious about fitness can access it easily... I'm by no means an expert but have done tons of research on this stuff, and have 2 close friends that are competitive bodybuilders... Hope it helps...

(for further research, here's a GREAT site to bookmark: http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/bbinfo.htm )

Diet:

Without a doubt the most important part of being fit... Consider other cultures (like the French) where you don't see a lot of fat people... It's not because they're all workout buffs, but rather they eat lots of small meals. Try for 5-7 small meals a day... It's tough, and not everybody can do it. You don't have to do it EVERY single day, but the main thing is to be aware of your diet. This will give you your greatest chance for success... The most important thing is to aim for 1.5 grams of total protein consumption per lb a day. If you weigh 200 lb's that means you need to consume 300 grams of protein daily... This will be nearly impossible without supplementation, which I will get to. From there, avoid sugars as much as possible, avoid white flour, get your carbs early in the day and taper off. Drink plenty of water, and don't run away from fats... Also, try to consume 1/2 of a baked potato after you workout. It will help re-energize your body so you don't feel lethargic the rest of the day... Caffeine is also phenomenal as a fat burner... Just make sure if you're going for energy drinks you're going sugar free... Nothing beats black coffee though. Green Tea is also great, but you can't be adding sugar...

Sample day for me:

Wake-up: Protein shake and apple
Breakfast: 4 egg whites and 2 eggs with yolk scrambled & 1 cup of oatmeal (AVOID INSTANT)
Snack: 2 hard boiled egg whites and slice of whole grain toast
Lunch: Spinach salad with 1 can of salmon, a few raisins, walnuts, cottage cheese, and low-cal dressing
Pre-workout: protein shake