Turn Off Ads?

View Poll Results: Do you use self-checkout?

Voters
74. You may not vote on this poll
  • All the time. I want in and out as quick as possible.

35 47.30%
  • Sometimes if I have a few items. Anything bigger and I go through the registers.

22 29.73%
  • Only if the cash registers are backed up and I need to get out ASAP

11 14.86%
  • I refuse to use self-checkout

6 8.11%
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Self-Checkout

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Self-Checkout

I'm kinda curious for responses on this as I currently work in retail. I personally use them all the time because I want to get in and out of places (especially Wal-Mart) as quick as humanly possible. On the other hand, there are some people who feel that U-Scan's, self-checkout, etc. take jobs away from the cashiers.

Which category do you fall into?
    Quote Originally Posted by savafan View Post
    I've read books about sparkling vampires who walk around in the daylight that were written better than a John Fay article.

Re: Self-Checkout

It all depends. Sometimes the technology is a little lacking on the self-checkout, so I avoid it. I've never really heard the "it eliminates jobs" angle, but that doesn't really bother me.
    How do we know he's not Mel Torme?

Quote Originally Posted by wolfboy View Post
    It all depends. Sometimes the technology is a little lacking on the self-checkout, so I avoid it. I've never really heard the "it eliminates jobs" angle, but that doesn't really bother me.
    It bothers me but I think its not going to do much good to fight it. Still, I prefer checkers.

Quote Originally Posted by Rojo View Post
    Still, I prefer checkers.
    Especially when they don't look me in the eye or otherwise acknowledge that I'm a living, breathing person, as happens all too often in most grocery stores. Honestly, that drives me to self checks just as much as the convenience factor.