The rules say nothing about when it has to be apparent that it's an infield fly. Again, the entire premise of your argument is false. It doesn't exist. It's not a consideration in the rules.
It can be apparent 10 seconds before an infielder catches it or one second. It does not matter when it's apparent.
The umpire called it when it was LEAST apparent, so even that word mince doesn't cut it. Contrarian indeed. Sometimes people make mistakes on their job, whether it be television producers or umpires. Not sure why you are carrying the torch when incompetence is called out.
Board Moderators may, at their discretion and judgment, delete and/or edit any messages that violate any of the following guidelines: 1. Explicit references to alleged illegal or unlawful acts. 2. Graphic sexual descriptions. 3. Racial or ethnic slurs. 4. Use of edgy language (including masked profanity). 5. Direct personal attacks, flames, fights, trolling, baiting, name-calling, general nuisance, excessive player criticism or anything along those lines. 6. Posting spam. 7. Each person may have only one user account. It is fine to be critical here - that's what this board is for. But let's not beat a subject or a player to death, please.
Thank you, and most
importantly, enjoy yourselves!
RedsZone.com is a privately owned website and is not affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds or Major League Baseball